Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Books - Visual Arts
Women in Art by
Call Number: N8354 I39 2019
Publication Date: 2019-09-10
A charmingly illustrated and inspiring book, Women in Arthighlights the achievements and stories of 50 notable women in the arts--from well-known figures like painters Frida Kahlo and Georgia O'Keefe, to lesser-known names like 19th-century African American quilter Harriet Powers and Hopi-Tewa ceramic artist Nampeyo. Covering a wide array of artistic mediums, this fascinating collection also contains infographics about artistic movements throughout history, statistics about women's representation in museums, and notable works by women. Women in Art celebrates the success of the bold female creators who inspired the world and paved the way for the next generation of artists.
3D Printing Design by
Call Number: TT507 B546 2019
Publication Date: 2019-07-11
To work with the materials of tomorrow, design students across visual arts disciplines need to understand the cutting edge of today. Whether you're modelling in interiors, designing in fashion or constructing for interiors, in your work or as part of a final project, 3D Printing design is an encouraging guide to additive manufacturing within design disciplines. Francis Bitonti gives an insider's view from his design studio on how 3D printing is already shaking up the industry, and where it's likely to go next. Complete with interviews from designers, business owners and 3D-print experts throughout, Bitonti considers whether 3D body scans mean couture for all, how rapid prototyping can change your design method and if 3D printing materials can enhance medical design, amongst other areas of this emerging method of manufacture. This is inspirational reading for the designers of tomorrow.
Art Hack Practice by
Call Number: NX180 T4 A783 2020
Publication Date: 2019-11-14
Bridging art and innovation, this book invites readers into the processes of artists, curators, cultural producers and historians who are working within new contexts that run parallel to or against the phenomenon of 'maker culture'. The book is a fascinating and compelling resource for those interested in critical and interdisciplinary modes of practice that combine arts, technology and making. It presents international case studies that interrogate perceived distinctions between sites of artistic and economic production by brokering new ways of working between them. It also discusses the synergies and dissonances between art and maker culture, analyses the social and collaborative impact of maker spaces and reflects upon the ethos of the hackathon within the fabric of a media lab's working practices. Art Hack Practice: Critical Intersections of Art, Innovation and the Maker Movement is essential reading for courses in art, design, new media, computer science, media studies and mass communications as well as those working to bring new forms of programming to museums, cultural venues, commercial venture and interdisciplinary academic research centres.
Graphic Design School by
Call Number: NC845 D33 2020
Publication Date: 2020-02-05
From understanding graphic design fundamentals, to developing original concepts, to creating finished designs--Graphic Design School develops design students' core competencies and provides practical advice and tips for how these fundamentals translate into new and evolving media. This Seventh Edition offers all new examples from web, app, social media, magazines, websites and books, presenting a comprehensive overview of the visual communications profession. This updated edition includes guidance and media examples using the latest in grahpic design software, and traditional printing techniques such as risograph and screen printing are revisited. Pedagogical tools throughout the text focus on the growth of interdisciplinary learning and collaborations between design specialists, as well as highlights on key players in the past and present of graphic design. Topics covered include: color, typographic rules and typefaces, coding requirements, information architecture, file organization, web design and layout, mobile device composition, app design, CMS, designing for social media, and SEO. Graphic Design School, 7th Edition includes full-color illustrations throughout, as well as case studies, designer biographies, and student assignments for testing skills and concepts.
Mid-Century Modern Graphic Design by
Call Number: NC998.4 I54 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
A visual and comprehensive guide to a hugely popular graphic style. The distinctive aesthetic of mid-century design captured the post-war zeitgeist of energy and progress, and remains hugely popular today. In Mid-Century Modern Graphic Design Theo Inglis takes an in-depth look at the innovative graphics of the period, writing about the work of artists and designers from all over the world. From book covers, record covers and posters to advertising, typography and illustration, the designs feature eye-popping colour palettes, experimental type and prints that buzz with kinetic energy. The book features artworks from a wide selection of international designers and illustrators whose work continues to inspire and influence today, including Ray Eames, Paul Rand, Alex Steinweiss, Joseph Low, Alvin Lustig, Elaine Lustig Cohen, Leo Lionni, Rudolph de Harak, Abram Games, Tom Eckersley, Ivan Chermayeff, Josef Albers, Corita Kent, Jim Flora, Ben Shahn, Herbert Bayer and Helen Borten. Theo draws from a broad range of sources including advertising, magazine covers, record sleeves, travel posters and children's book illustration to show the development of the design style globally, and how this continues to influence design today. The book is packed with hundreds of colour illustrations, including classic designs, such as Saul Bass' film posters and Miroslav Sasek's children's books, alongside lesser-known gems.
Speaking of Objects by
Call Number: N530 A56 2020
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
A lavishly illustrated selection of highlights from the Art Institute of Chicago's extraordinary collection of the arts of Africa Featuring a selection of more than 75 works of traditional African art in the Art Institute of Chicago's collection, this stunning volume includes objects in a wide variety of media from regions across the continent. Essays and catalogue entries by leading art historians and anthropologists attend closely to the meanings and materials of the works themselves in addition to fleshing out original contexts. These experts also underscore the ways in which provenance and collection history are important to understanding how we view such objects today. Celebrating the Art Institute's collection of traditional African art as one of the oldest and most diverse in the United States, this is a fresh and engaging look at current research into the arts of Africa as well as the potential of future scholarship.
How to Be an Artist by
Call Number: N71 S157 2020
Publication Date: 2020-03-17
Instant New York Times Bestseller "Inspiration leaps off the pages from Jerry Saltz's new book on creativity. . . . This book is for the artist or non-artist, for the person who gets plain English, for the person who understands that practical talk can coax out the mystical messages that lie underneath." --Steve Martin Art has the power to change our lives. For many, becoming an artist is a lifelong dream. But how to make it happen? In How to Be an Artist, Jerry Saltz, one of the art world's most celebrated and passionate voices, offers an indispensable handbook for creative people of all kinds. From the first sparks of inspiration--and how to pursue them without giving in to self-doubt--Saltz offers invaluable insight into what really matters to emerging artists: originality, persistence, a balance between knowledge and intuition, and that most precious of qualities, self-belief. Brimming with rules, prompts, and practical tips, How to Be an Artist gives artists new ways to break through creative blocks, get the most from materials, navigate career challenges, and above all find joy in the work. Teeming with full-color artwork from visionaries ancient and modern, this beautiful and useful book will help artists of all kinds--painters, photographers, writers, performers--realize their dreams.
Computational Drawing by
Call Number: NC915 C65 L68 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-01
This book explores computation, specifically the craft of writing computer code, as a medium for drawing. Exercises, essays, algorithms, diagrams, and drawings are woven together to offer instruction, insight, and theories that are valuable to practicing architects, artists, and scholars. This book can serve as a primer for those new to programming or motivation and context for those with experience."Computing" and "drawing" are both deeply historical and loaded terms. Although digital media is often positioned in opposition to the "manual" act of drawing, the broader territory of "computing" includes matters of language, rules, procedures, and orders that are very much compatible with the presence of ink on paper. Indeed, the nature of drawing--a temporal medium governed by marks that can be precisely defined, but not easily edited--provides welcome structure for computational methods.
Ceramics of Iran by
Call Number: NK4147 W37 2020
Publication Date: 2020-11-24
A beautifully illustrated showcase of the rich and varied ceramic tradition of Iran Featuring a broad selection of objects from one of the most distinguished collections of Iranian art, this volume brings together over 1,000 years of Persian Islamic pottery. With more than 500 illustrations, authoritative technical treatises, and insightful commentary, Ceramics of Iran assembles a collection of rarely seen treasures from the Persian world and presents a collective history of its renowned ceramic tradition. Included among its comprehensive catalogue entries are numerous translations of the object's inscriptions, providing readers with a richer and more detailed understanding of the cultural heritage from which these items are derived. In addition, the book contains new research and material from previously unknown sites. Featuring all new photography of nearly 250 objects, Ceramics of Iran brings the extraordinary contributions of Persian art into a wider historical context, along with a wealth of images to demonstrate the full scope of its intricate beauty.
Sanford Biggers by
Call Number: N6537 B522 A4 2020
Publication Date: 2020-04-21
"What I want to do is code-switch. To have there be layers of history and politics, but also this heady, arty stuff--inside jokes, black humor--that you might have to take a while to research if you want to really get it."--Sanford Biggers Sanford Biggers (b. 1970) is a Harlem-based artist working in various media including painting, sculpture, video, and performance. He describes his practice as "code-switching"--mixing disparate elements to create layers of meaning--to account for his wide-ranging interests. This catalogue focuses on a series of repurposed quilts (many made in the 19th century) that embodies this interest in mixture. Informed by the significance of quilts to the Underground Railroad, Biggers transforms the quilts into new works using materials such as paint, tar, glitter, and charcoal to add his own layers of codes, whether they be historical, political, or purely artistic. Insightful essays survey Biggers's career, his art in relation to music, and the history upon which the series draws. Also featured is a short yet powerful graphic essay by an award-winning illustrator that introduces the layered meanings inherent in the art and craft of quilting.]]>
New Books - Performing Arts
More Myself by
Call Number: ML420 K3745 A3 2020
Publication Date: 2020-03-31
An intimate, revealing look at one artist's journey from self-censorship to full expression As one of the most celebrated musicians in the world, Alicia Keys has enraptured the globe with her heartfelt lyrics, extraordinary vocal range, and soul-stirring piano compositions. Yet away from the spotlight, Alicia has grappled with private heartache--over the challenging and complex relationship with her father, the people-pleasing nature that characterized her early career, the loss of privacy surrounding her romantic relationships, and the oppressive expectations of female perfection. Since Alicia rose to fame, her public persona has belied a deep personal truth: she has spent years not fully recognizing or honoring her own worth. After withholding parts of herself for so long, she is at last exploring the questions that live at the heart of her story: Who am I, really? And once I discover that truth, how can I become brave enough to embrace it? MoreMyself is part autobiography, part narrative documentary. Alicia's journey is revealed not only through her own candid recounting, but also through vivid recollections from those who have walked alongside her. The result is a 360-degree perspective on Alicia's path, from her girlhood in Hell's Kitchen and Harlem to the process of growth and self-discovery that we all must navigate. InMore Myself, Alicia shares her quest for truth--about herself, her past, and her shift from sacrificing her spirit to celebrating her worth. With the raw honesty that epitomizes Alicia's artistry,More Myselfis at once a riveting account and a clarion call to readers: to define themselves in a world that rarely encourages a true and unique identity.
Electronic Music and Sound Design - Theory and Practice with Max 8 - Volume 1 (Fourth Edition) by
Call Number: MT723 C5713 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-20
(Fourth Edition updated for MAX 8) Structured for use in university courses, the book is an overview of the theory and practice of Max and MSP, with a glossary of terms and suggested tests that allow students to evaluate their progress. Comprehensive online support, running parallel to the explanations in the book, includes hundreds of sample patches, analyses, interactive sound-building exercises, and reverse engineering exercises. This book will provide a reader with skill and understanding in using Max/MSP for sound design and musical composition.
Call Number: ML3918 P79 K37 2020
Publication Date: 2020-06-24
"I got 1-2-3-4 psychobilly DNA"--Norm and the Nightmarez Call it punk rockabilly with science-fiction horror lyrics. The outsider musical genre known as psychobilly, which began in 1980s Britain, fuses punk, heavy metal, new wave, and shock rock with carnivalesque elements. The participants in this underground scene sport coffin tattoos and 1950s fashions. Bands such as The Meteors, Nekromantix, and Demented Are Go play with a wild energy and a fast tempo. Sometimes fake blood runs down a performer's mouth.Psychobilly is ethnomusicologist Kimberly Kattari's fascinating, decade-long study of this little-known anti-mainstream genre. She provides a history and introduces readers to the core aspects of the music as she interviews passionate performers and fans. Kattari seeks to understand how psychobilly so strongly affects--and reflects--its participants' lives and identities so strongly. She observes that it provides not only a sense of belonging but a response to feelings and experiences of socio-economic marginalization and stigmatization. Psychobilly shows how this subculture organized around music furnishes an outlet for members to resist normative expectations and survive; they adhere to their own rules by having a good time while going through a hard time.