The premier index for American history journals. Indexes over 1700 journals. This is a "must use" resource. You can limit to peer reviewed articles and search by historical era. See recommended limiters in the box on the right.
You can also request articles not available in full text using interlibrary loan.
Historical AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. This authoritative database provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
General multidisciplinary article databases
Search EverythingThis link opens in a new windowA unified, customized index of Kutztown University’s information resources. Essentially allows the researcher to search almost all of the library's databases with one search.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowSearch the scholarly literature using Google Scholar. The library's link is authenticated so it will connect to any full-text available through the library's e-journal subscriptions.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR offers full-text journal coverage in the social sciences and humanities. Examples of disciplines covered are: history, economics, Asian studies, classics, archaeology. African, Latin American, Slavic, Middle Eastern studies, the literary cultures of many different countries. The lag time in publication ranges from 3 and 5 years. Updated in an ongoing basis.
Dissertations and Theses
Dissertations and ThesesThis link opens in a new windowThe world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT Global Full Text includes access to 1.7 million full-text graduate works and 3.8 million A&I records. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
