Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

HIS 378: Kelleher: Citing your sources

Research guide for Dr. Kelleher's History 378 classes.

Citing sources

Properly citing your sources is the most important activity in the research process. It is the foundation upon which scholarship is based. In this class you will be using Chicago/Turabian style.  Below is an example of an article from an online database (Note/Bibliography style). You need to include the database you used, the vendor url, and the date you viewed the article.

First note form:

1. Jane Doe, “Incidental Toxins and Deer Mortality in CentralPark,” Pesticides and Urban Ungulates 44, no. 12 (June 2008): 26,http:www.scienceindirect.com/urbscarnage/article2whatrhooves4?(accessed May 5, 2001).

Bibliography:

Doe, Jane. “Incidental Toxins and Deer Mortality in Central Park.” Pesticides and Urban Ungulates 44, no. 12 (June 2008): 21-35.  http:www.scienceindirect.com/urbscarnage/article2whatrhooves4? (accessed May 5, 2001).

Other examples at the official Turabian Quick Guide from the publisher.

Chicago Style Manual Online. The complete full-text of the Chicago Style Manual.

Online Writing Lab's Chicago Style Manual Online.  Highly respected abbreviated online version of Chicago style from Purdue University.  Includes all the basics from formatting your paper to citing your sources.

There are a number of tools available through the library and online to help you with the process. However, these tools are in no way a substitute for knowing proper citation style. They only read data and do not write it so errors in a record are carried over to the citation.

EndNote Web. Endnote Web is a Web-based reference management tool that allows you to create a personal database of up to 10,000 references by importing citations from online databases or text files. You can organize references into folders, and quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles.

Example of paper (pdf) in Chicago style using endnotes (not footnotes).

Example of paper in Chicago NB style from the Online Writing Lab.

Library's Citation Web Page. Use this part of the library web site to get help with your citations and for links to web sites that can help you build and organize your citations. Chicago (Turabian) style is used by KU’s history department.

Some advice and tips

- Create a Google Docs account and save citations to a Google Document.

- Use EndNote Web to keep track of your citations (please note you must create an account to use EndNote Web.  Click here for a tutorial).

- Use Zotero to capture your work and generate bibliographies on your desktop (must use FireFox).

- Use WorldCat.org to generate book citations.