HIS 378: Kelleher

Often one of the most challenging part of doing a research paper is choosing a workable topic, one that is not too broad or too narrow and answers a signficant research question. Only you in consultation with Dr. Kelleher can determine what works. However, the library has a number of useful resources that will hopefully get you started in this search.

One of the best places to start your search for a topic is browing relevant reference books. Its likely that if the subject has been covered (no matter how briefly) in a reference book that you will be able to get enough information for your paper. Below is a list of recommended reference books:

Reference Books (locations specified)

• On Reserve at the Information Desk- D20 .A55 1995 The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature (On reserve at the Info Desk)

In the Main Collection

• DA 28 D47 & DA 28 D48 Dictionary of National Biography
• E 45 E53 1993 Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies (3 volumes)
• E 185 E 54 1996 Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History (5 volumes)

In the Reference Collection (behind the Information Desk):

• Ref HA202 .H57 2006 Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present
• Ref HN 57 .E58 1993 Encyclopedia of American Social History (3 volumes)
• Ref CT CT213 .A68 1999 American National Biography

In addition to print reference titles the library has eReference titles. These are print reference books that are available online and keyword searchable. You can still browse them like traditional reference books.

eReference resources:

• The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Urban History (2019)
• Dictionary of American History, 3rd ed
• Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
• Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History
• Gale Virtual Reference Library - some of the titles available here are appropriate.
• Biography InContext - biographical database.

Your course materials are a great source for finding topics. What interests you in class readings?

Faculty - consult with Dr. Kelleher or other faculty in the History Department to get ideas.