The Rohrbach Library collection is developed to meet the curriculum, research, and information needs of the students, faculty and staff of Kutztown University.
The selection of materials is a continual process affected by the needs of a changing curriculum. These guidelines for selection apply equally to all types and formats of materials considered for acquisition. Library funds are used for current and limited retrospective purchases to build a balanced collection that supports the academic mission of Kutztown University. Given the university’s resources, it is not always possible to provide all the materials requested.
Priorities Applied for Selecting Materials:
materials that support the curriculum
materials to support research needs of students and faculty
materials contributing to a balanced collection
essential reference resources
materials of a general or interdisciplinary nature
materials supporting the University’s cultural programs
Subject Matter and Scope:
relevant to the curriculum
significant; has lasting value to the discipline
relationship to current holdings and strength of materials in that subject area
English language publications are preferred. Non-English materials are selected to support the curriculum in literature and language studies.
frequency of borrowing requests in the same or similar subjects
local interest (subject, author or publisher)
reasonable expectation information is accurate, current, and authoritative
subject specific and standard library reviewing sources aid in making selection decisions
additional criteria to consider include availability of indexing, date of publication, primary versus secondary source, fact or opinion, observation or research, accessibility
Formats of Materials Collected:
The library acquires content in the most appropriate, accessible and available format.
The library does not select materials in proprietary, nonstandard or obsolete formats.
Preference will be given to acquire content based on user preference.
Types of Materials Collected:
Monographs: Monographs are collected using the criteria above. The library purchases only one copy of a title.
Media: All media formats are collected using the criteria above.
Textbooks: Textbooks used for courses at Kutztown University are not collected.
Serials: Journals, newspapers, and other serials are collected using the criteria above. Because these materials incur continuing financial obligations, they necessitate more deliberate consideration.
Curriculum Materials: Materials are selected based on their contribution to the instructional objectives of the university’s education programs. A collection of textbooks published for preschool through high school levels is maintained to support the education curriculum.
Government Documents: Rohrbach Library is a Pennsylvania State Documents Depository Library, curating both print and online government documents.
Gifts are added to the collection based on the same selection criteria used for purchased materials.
Ongoing review of the collection and removing outdated, damaged, or well-worn materials is an important aspect of collection management. The following considerations apply to the removal of library materials:
History of usage, including ILL data
Value for historical and other research
Last copy in serviceable condition
Availability in multiple copies or in other formats
The Collection Development Policy is reviewed periodically by the Rohrbach Library librarians.
Other Collection Policies:
Electronic Resources Collection Development Policy
Digital Collections Policy
Approved by Rohrbach Library Faculty on May 9, 2018.