Kutztown University Archives

The Archives

Found in room 203 on the upper floor of the Rohrbach Library. We house all of the rare books, textiles, memorabilia, and artifacts of Kutztown University

Follow us on Social Media @elusiveseacow

Be sure to check out the exhibit in the Quiet Study Section of the Rohrbach Library, right above the Book and Brew! Right now we are featuring Student Life!

Why the Sea Cow?

 

The Elusive Sea Cow is the largest artifact that the Archive department has. It was donated by KU student Abigail J. Krantz as part of a statewide college scholarship called "Cows on Campus", where each university was given a ceramic cow and a theme in which to design the cow, and all compete dto design the best cow. This item is prominently displayed in the upper level of the library, next to the the Archives office in room 203. Since we had this artifact lying around, we figured that it would make sense to name our social after it. 

Meet The Staff

Sue Czerny is the Digital Initiatives and Archive Librarian. 

Sue has been working as the Archives Librarian for four years, but has been an employee of Kutztown University for nearly 30 years as an access librarian, acquisitions librarian, library systems administrator, and more! Her favorite thing about the Archives is being able to see the history of Kutztown firsthand. As a Kutztown Alumni, Sue enjoys learning about what student life was like back in the early days of Kutztown University. 

Matthew Bandy is an Archives Assistant.

Matt is currently a Junior at KU, majoring in Professional Writing and Political Science. He has been working in the Archives since January of 2018. He does a little bit of everything, from curating display cases, digitizing physical artifacts, organizing and cataloging new donations, managing the social media account, creation of graphics and displays, website maintenance, book repairs, and, most recently, contributing writer to the Archives Magazine. Matt enjoys learning the history of Kutztown University and those involved with the founding of the school.