Academics are folks who understand information overload—you live it, and most of what piles up each day is irrelevant to your research area. In your aggressive triage of email and social media, how can you be sure you haven't missed an important article or journal issue?
A variety of library tools and techniques exist to raise the signal-to-noise ratio and help keep you abreast of the latest developments in your field.
If you need any assistance with these services please contact me.
The library offers the IngentaConnect InTouch Alerting Service, which allows you to receive focused alerts from more than 29,000 journal titles. Alerts arrive via email with links to article citations and the full text (if available). You can receive alerts based on search terms or new issues. If you would like an account, please contact Karen Colburn at colburn@kutztown.edu or 610-683-4168
Many library databases offer a feature called Search Alerts. These enable you to create searches for topics of interest, to run periodically at intervals you specify. The database sends you the resulting citations via email.
This is a great way to stay up to date on all research on a particular topic, including articles published in journals you may not read regularly.
The particular options available for search alerts will depend on the database platform. Here are links to the search alert help pages for three of our database vendors:
Web of Science EBSCO Databases ProQuest Databases (including Dissertations database)
