Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education

This guide highlights resources helpful for education majors or those using education-related information and collections.

Hello! Welcome to the Education LibGuide.

My name is Karen Wanamaker. I am the Education Librarian here at Kutztown University. You can find my contact information in a box on the bottom left of every page in this guide. 
Email is the best way to reach me (kwanamak@kutztown.edu).
My office is located on the ground floor of the Rohrbach Library in the Curriculum Materials Center area.
I love helping students, so please, ASK!!

Guide Layout

In the column/box to the left you will find links to information that use to be in multiple guides. 

  • CMC: Information about the collection and organization of the Curriculum Materials Center
  • Children's Literature: Information about print and electronic resources/collections for children's literature 
  • Finding Materials: How to find materials using the online catalog, interlibrary loan, & the local public library
  • Databases: Information and links to education databases
  • Finding Articles: Tips and information about finding articles for research or lesson planning
  • Citations: Information and links for APA citation 
  • Standards: Links to the Pennsylvania standards and many of the national standards 
  • Subjects: Information and links to subject-specific resources
  • Find HELP: How to find additional help
  • Publishing Research: A guide created for our doctoral students looking to publish their research/dissertations. 

Some New Additions (Book covers and titles are linked to the online catalog)

Inquiry-Based Lessons in World History

Spanning the time period from 15,000 BCE to 1500 CE, Inquiry-Based Lessons in World History (Vol. 1)focuses on creating global connections between people and places using primary sources in standards-based lessons. With sections on early humans, the ancient world, classical antiquity, and the world in transition, this book provides teachers with inquiry-based, ready-to-use lessons that can be adapted to any classroom and that encourage students to take part in the learning process by reading and thinking like historians. Each section contains chapters that correspond to the scope and sequence of most world history textbooks. Each inquiry lesson begins with an essential question and connections to content and literacy standards, followed by primary source excerpts or links to those sources. Lessons include step-by-step directions, incorporate a variety of literacy strategies, and require students to make a hypothesis using evidence from thetexts they have read.

Wind Energy, Grade 5

Wind Energy outlines a journey that will steer your students toward authentic problem solving while grounding them in integrated STEM disciplines. The series is designed to meet the growing need to infuse real-world learning into K–12 classrooms.
This book is an interdisciplinary module that uses project- and problem-based learning to investigate the interactions of Earth’s systems, including geography, weather, and wind.

Planting the Seeds of Equity

Bringing together an inspirational group of educators, this book provides key insights into what it means to implement social justice ideals with young children. Each chapter highlights a teacher's experience with a specific aspect of social justice and ethnic studies, including related research, projects and lesson plans, and implications for teacher education. The text engages readers in critical dialogue, drawing from works within ethnic studies to think deeply about ideals such as humanization, representation, and transformation. Finding ways to integrate acceptance of difference and social justice content into the primary grades is a complex and challenging endeavor. These teacher stories are ones of courage and commitment, inspiring the possibility of radical change. Book Features: Guidance for teachers who want to teach for social justice, including lesson plans and strategies. Examples of what ethnic studies looks like in early childhood classrooms. Dialogue questions to prompt critical thinking and professional conversation. Windows into classrooms that foster valuing of self and respect for diversity of color, ethnicity, and gender. Activities to tap into personal strengths and enrich teaching, including yoga and song. Connections to relevant research.

Middle Schoolers, Meet Media Literacy

In a world of media saturation, children today are not future consumers of information and goods, but targeted participants involved in a game in which they don't know the rules or even that they are playing, yet one that will affect them throughout their lives. This book is a teaching manual that helps teachers not only explain the concepts of consumer economics and media literacy to middle schoolers but supplies lessons for students to get hands-on experience recognizing, deconstructing, evaluating, and choosing for themselves whether to accept the tangible product or intangible message offered. Teachers can use the lessons to help students build a toolbox of analytical skills that they can carry with them and develop further throughout the rest of their lives to distinguish information from persuasion, from what people tell them they should believe to what the students, through critical thinking, decide is worthy of their belief.

Classroom Talk for Social Change

Learn how to foster critical conversations in English language arts classrooms. This guide encourages teachers to engage students in noticing and discussing harmful discourses about race, gender, and other identities. The authors take readers through a framework that includes knowledge about power, a critical learner stance, critical pedagogies, critical talk moves, and vulnerability. The text features in-depth classroom examples from six secondary English language arts classrooms. Each chapter offers specific ways in which teachers can begin and sustain critical conversations with their students, including the creation of teacher inquiry groups that use transcript analysis as a learning tool. Book Features: Strategies that educators can use to facilitate conversations about critical issues. In-depth classroom examples of teachers doing this work with their students. Questions, activities, and resources that foster self-reflection. Tools for engaging in transcript analysis of classroom conversations. Suggestions for developing inquiry groups focused on critical conversations.