Each semestser the library offers internships for students looking for experience in archives, web design, or digital initiatives.
In Spring 2023, interns Sabrina Betterly, Madison Blickley, and Alex Torres completed projects for the internship requirements in their majors.
You can view their projects in the boxes below.
Alex Torres completed an internship for her major in Professional Writing doing research in the Rare Book Collection, and creating displays to accompany her research. Alex graduated in May 2023.
My name is Meaghan Xenia Alexandra (Alex) Torres, and during my final semester at Kutztown University, I had the privilege of working at the Rorbach Library in an internship for the KU Archives. Susan Czerny has given me great opportunities to use both my talents as a writer and artist for various projects that are relevant to my internship. I have written articles about my research on the Rare Book Room and the newly rebuilt deFrancesco building. Adding to it, Susan allowed me to use my creative skills as an artist to set up informal displays of the topics related to my articles. My creative writing and artistic skills were once again used for the plexiglass wall Susan set up on the second floor of the Rorbach Gallery. On that wall is an explosion of color that surrounds photographs and facts centered on KU alumni: Clyde Francis Lytle and Quincy A.W. Rohrbach. Concluding my internship, I’m writing a poem as a tribute to my time and work for the Rare Book Room. In addition, I wrote a proposal for the library staff on how to best work, communicate, and help other students who are neurodivergent like me so those who’ll want to intern or work at the library or simply checking a book or finding information for their homework will be welcomed with tolerance, understanding, and compassion from its staff.
Madison Blickley Is the Social Media Strategy intern in the University Archives. Madison was the administrator of the Archives Instagram account. Using Google Analytics, she analyzed the archives Instagram account, the library Instagram and Facebook accounts, and the new library website for the 2022-23 academic year . Madison exhibited her findings at the Higher Education Council of Berks County Undergraduate Research Conference in April 2023.
Sabrina is a senior Professional Writing major with a minor in Social Media Theory and Strategy. She is the current editor-in-chief of Shoofly Literary Magazine, the senior editor for Her Campus, and a student representative on KU Student Government Board. In Spring 2023, Sabrina was an intern with the KU Archives as the editor-in-chief of The Archives Magazine. She also spent a great deal of time repairing and restoring the Amy Gring Scrapbook, which documented extensively Amy's four years at Kutztown State Teachers College in the early 1940's. Sabrina hopes to either find a career in writing or go to graduate school for Library Science after she graduates in May 2023.
The Archives Magazine, Issue 4, Spring 2023